Everything You Should Know About Season 1 of PGL Wallachia


Prithhis Bose


May, 20.2024

Taking place in Bucharest , PGL Wallachia Season 1 is an offline Dota 2 tournament,. Organized by PGL, this tournament boasted a prize pool of $1,000,000 USD. It commenced on 10th May 2024 and concluded on 19th May 2024. Total 16 teams participated in this competition. Let's investigate this tournament's specifics.

PGL Wallachia Season 1 Format

Group Stage of this tournament was held from 10th May to 15th May, 2024. One modified Swiss-system was applied consisting of sixteen teams. All matches were played in best of three series and top eight teams advanced to the playoffs. Remaining teams were eliminated. Playoffs were held from 16th May to 19th May, 2024 and double-elimination bracket was applied. All matches except the Grand Final were played in best of three series. Grand Final was played in best of five series.

The following 16 teams participated in this tournament:

  • Team Liquid
  • Gaimin Gladiators
  • Team Secret
  • Team Falcons
  • BetBoom Team
  • Team Spirit
  • Xtreme Gaming
  • Aurora
  • Shopify Rebellion
  • MOUZ
  • Virtus.pro
  • G2 x iG
  • Azure Ray
  • nouns
  • BOOM Esports

During the Upper Bracket Final, Xtreme Gaming won 2-0 against Team Falcons whereas in the Lower Bracket Final, Team Spirit defeated Team Falcons with a 2-1 score. In the grand final Team Spirit won 3-2 against Xtreme Gaming and became champion.

Prize Pool

The event boasted a total prize pool of $1,000,000 USD, with the distribution as follows:

  • Team Spirit became the champion and received $300,000.
  • Xtreme Gaming was the second place holder and took home $175,000.
  • Team Falcons secured the third place and received $120,000.
  • G2 x iG was the fourth place holder and took home $80,000.
  • For the 5th-6th positions, both Team Liquid and BOOM Esports have earned $60,000 each.
  • Similarly, Aurora and Gaimin Gladiators secured the 7th-8th positions and received $40,000 each.